Posted on

Dan Harrington was inducted to the Poker Hall of Fame in 2010 when he was formally recognized as being one of poker’s greatest players.

Poker Hall of Fame

His longtime friend Erik Seidel was also voted into the Hall of Fame that same year and the two were inducted together.

Seidel said “It’s an extra bonus for me to be going in with Dan Harrington. We have played together and have been great friends for my entire poker career. Both of us refined our games at the Mayfair Club in New York.”

Membership Requirements

The requirements for membership into this elite club are:

  • Played poker against top competition
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results

Two candidates are admitted every year. The process begins with a Top 10 list being created with the public making the nominations. The WSOP has the option to include any individuals on this list that it deems worthy.

Ballots for the election of the newest members are then sent out to all living Hall of Famers and to select members of the poker media.  Each ballot has ten votes that can be allocated between the players as desired.

Dan Harrington’s Poker Accomplishments

Dan has earned his spot on the list through his amazing poker tournament results over more than two decades of play coupled with his invaluable contribution to tournament theory.

He has won almost $7 million in live tournaments.

He won the World Series of Poker Main Event in 1995 and has made three additional Main Event final tables.

He captivated TV audiences worldwide when he made back-to-back final tables in 2003 and 2004 through incredibly large fields finishing in 3rd and 4th place respectively. He also finished 6th in the 1987 Main Event.

In 2007, he would add a World Poker Tour title to his list of accomplishments when he won the Legends of Poker event.

His poker books have earned him the respect of his poker peers and have been responsible for improving the play of players worldwide.  His Harrington on Hold’em books are regarded as the best series of poker books ever written and have made an invaluable contribution to poker theory.

The Class of 2010

Two players are inducted into the Hall of Fame each year.  In 2010, Dan Harrington and Erik Seidel would have the honor of beating out some tough competition to be elected.

The 2010 nominations included: Phil Ivey, Barry Greenstein, Daniel Negreanu, Jennifer Harman, Tom McEvoy, Scotty Nguyen, Linda Johnson and Chris Ferguson.

Many of the nominees are expected to eventually be inducted into the Hall of Fame in the coming years.

Poker Hall of Fame Members

There are currently 40 members.  Here is the complete list:

Player Year
Johnny Moss 1979
Nick “The Greek” Dandolos 1979
Felton “Corky” McCorquodale 1979
Red Winn 1979
Sid Wyman 1979
James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok 1979
Edmond Hoyle 1979
Blondie Forbes 1980
Bill Boyd 1981
Tom Abdo 1982
Joe Bernstein 1983
Murph Harrold 1984
Red Hodges 1985
Henry Green 1986
Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson 1987
Doyle “Texas Dolly” Brunson 1988
Jack “Treetop” Straus 1988
Fred “Sarge” Ferris 1989
Benny Binion 1990
David “Chip” Reese 1991
Thomas “Amarillo Slim” Preston 1992
Jack “Gentleman” Keller 1993
Julius Oral Popwell 1996
Roger Moore 1997
Stu “The Kid” Ungar 2001
Lyle Berman 2002
Johnny “The Orient Express” Chan 2002
Bobby “The Owl” Baldwin 2003
Berry Johnston 2004
Jack Binion 2005
Crandell “Dandy” Addington 2005
T.J. Cloutier 2006
Billy Baxter 2006
Barbara Enright 2007
Phil Hellmuth 2007
Dewey Tomko 2008
Henry Orenstein 2008
Mike Sexton 2009
Dan Harrington 2010
Erik Seidel 2010

Dan Harrington is officially a living legend of poker.  His name and legacy have achieved immortality alongside poker’s greatest in the Poker Hall of Fame.